The best resource(s)

It’s been a busy semester for me and there are a lot of things I’ve wanted to share, but haven’t really found the time for yet.  Eventually, I’ll get to those posts, but I’ve been itching to write about a resource that doesn’t compare to any other – volunteers.  Over the past several years I’ve been lucky enough to have a steady supply of volunteers, student teachers, and colleagues in education help out in my room.  This semester, in particular, the ship might not have sailed without all the outstanding help I got from a great group of educators and educators to be.  From 4th grade basketball games, to the science fair, to service projects, to putting together a track meet – I’ve been blessed with helpers who fill in all the missing pieces.  (I’m not much of a detail person, so there are always lots of missing pieces). While there are a lot of great tech resources for education, none of them really equal the benefit of having an extra adult (or older student) who is passionate and willing to help students in any way.

Without exception, all the people I’ve had in my room this year made it a better place.  Students were more productive and able to accomplish more because of their presence.  I’d be hard pressed to find any resource that compares to the help I’ve received from all sorts of people this year.   As we head into the last month of the school year and things start to wind down, I’m returning to a room with just me and my students.  While I enjoy this, it makes me appreciate the fact that people are truly the best resource you can have.

Leave a Reply

