Drop.io for the uninitiated

I’ve written several times recently about how I use Drop.io with my students. In response to some questions about it from readers and colleagues, I created this presentation (with screenshots) about how to use drop.io. It doesn’t go beyond the basics, but it will help you get started. This presentation is pretty much a slide version of a video on the drop.io homepage, but I sometimes find it quicker/easier to click through slides than watch a whole movie. Whichever you prefer, I’ve emdedded both below. Under that I’ve listed some ways it can be used.

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/g6RV%2BbECAg%5D

Drop.io Ideas
1. Online drop box for anything. Set a guest password (or not) and students can upload any document directly to your drop. Eliminates lots of emails and puts everything in one place, accessible from anywhere (not just your local network).

2. Embed anything – anywhere. It doesn’t matter what it is, you’ll be able to get an embed code for it with drop.io. Embedit.in can do this too, but drop.io is significantly faster and easier to use. This is a better choice for certain kinds of PowerPoints than Google Docs because it preserves all formatting and hot-links to other slides in the presentation (see example).

3. Have students call in and leave a message.  Drop.io saves the message in your drop as an mp3.  This would be great for foreign language teachers and is a quick way to do verbal assessments.  If you have a student that needs to have tests read to him, just call it in.  The student can pause and rewind at his/her leisure.  I have my students do use it to create audio samples that we analyze.

4.  If you don’t have a blog, wiki, or other interactive webspace, drop.io could be used to host a discussion board.  Just post a question and students can respond to it in the comments section of a drop (if you allow it in the administrator panel).

3 thoughts on “Drop.io for the uninitiated

  1. Thankyou so much for explaining this. I have seen it on other peoples sites and wondered about it. Now I feel that I can use it.

  2. Nice presentation, I am sharing this with a few at my school who are interested in using drop.io but not quite sure about the logistics of it. Thanks!

  3. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I have been maybe wanting to try this, and you provided me with some information and inspiration to do it.

Leave a Reply

