End of the year surveys

As the year draws to a close, it’s a great time to do some final assessments of the class and get some perspective on the year. In the past, I always did this with paper – usually a few questions at the end of a test. Unfortunately, I usually looked at the papers once and gave them back to the students or put them in a folder with the intention of analyzing them more when I got the time. The problem was, I never really found the time.

This year, I took a different approach. I’ve decided to do my end of the year surveys on Google forms. The feedback is instantaneous and the analysis is done for me and put into neat graphs automatically via the “summary” feature. The “summary feature” is one that I only discovered after several months of using Google forms. It makes analyzing your results super easy. Here is how to do it:

1. Open the spreadsheet from your survey.
2. Click on “Form” and then click “Show Summary” and you’ll get a nice set of graphs showing your results.

summary

Here are some graphs of the responses  from the survey my 8th graders took.  There were only 11 students in the class and 2 students were gone when we took the survey.  These two questions represent some of the skills I want my students to have when they leave my class.  To get pictures of the graphs, I took a screenshot of them (Command+Shift+4 on a mac lets you take a snapshot of whatever area you highlight).

results1

Leave a Reply

