Teaching from home

Last week, while staying home with my sick daughter, I crafted a couple lessons to make the sub’s job a little easier. I posted them on my classroom blog for students to complete. Throughout the day I monitored their progress on google docs and thatquiz.org. At one point I noticed some students weren’t completing the designated assignment. I dialed the school, got in touch with the teacher overseeing my science class in the computer lab and quickly got the students pointed in the right direction (they went straight to the quiz page instead of the blog).

In between reading some books to my daughter at home, I answered questions via the chat function on gmail with my students. They ended up finishing the assignment that day which left me one less thing to worry about when I returned to class. While my students don’t always have access to the computer lab, it was helpful to be able to conduct class virtually from home. Had I not been able to see that they were on the wrong assignment or been able to chat, it would have been a lost day.

Leave a Reply

